In my seminars on copyright law I have come across this question again and again in the recent months. The occasion was the discussion about the new EU Copyright Directive, which was decided on in the summer of 2019 with a lot of excitement in public.

Keywords were upload – filter and direct liability of platform operators for copyright violations by their users.

The Main focus of the directive is the Europe-wide introduction of ancillary copyright for press publishers and the establishment of direct liability of the platform operators. Both are already applicable law in the FRG.

But what legal binding effect does an EU directive have?

It is important to know that an EU directive comes into being in the so-called TRILOG procedure at EU level, i.e. with the participation of the three institutions of the EU:

  1. The EU Council, i.e. the assembly of the heads of governments of the EU Member States. This also convenes at ministerial level. The EU Council is the political leadership of the EU and the principle of unanimity applies. This is also the reason why the EU cannot take any political decisions currently, because I almost no political question unanimity can be reached.
  2. The EU Parliament, which is larger than any national parliament and directly elected.
  3. The EU Commission as the administrative arm of the EU, which is basically responsible for ensuring uniform economic conditions in the EU and has been given extensive powers in this regard.

So how does the TRILOG procedure typically work?

The EU Council decides that in one area, e.g. data retention, it makes sense to install a uniform Europe-wide regulation. The Council then instructs the EU Commission to prepare a corresponding directive.

The EU Commission then develops the proposal for an EU directive with the participation and consultation of the associations and lobbyists concerned and then submits it to the EU Parliament for the first vote.

In the EU Parliament, this blueprint is then supplemented, amended and expanded and, after the conclusion of the parliamentary discussion, is put to the first vote.

This version is then submitted to the EU Council for final examination. The Council can make deletions and amendments and must then vote again.

The version modified in this way is then put back to the EU Parliament for the 2nd vote. The EU Parliament must then vote, without being able to change the content of the directive in any way.

If this vote is positive, then it is finally there the final EU directive!

What does that mean for us now?

According to the EU Agreements, this directive is now not directly applicable in the Member States as binding law, but merely triggers the obligation of the Member States to incorporate this directive into their respective national law.

This means that each state must now start its national legislative procedure and incorporate the directive into its national law, e.g. the Copyright Act. Unfortunately, there is no guarantee that this will actually be implemented! The EU can only impose penalties if a state does not implement the directive within a period of 3 – 5 years.

No EU head of state risks political problems “at home” just to implement an EU directive. It should not surprise us that especially the FRG does not implement all EU – directives into national law!

So, in the result you have to state that an EU – directive will never be directly legally binding for a citizen of a member state!

This post is also available in: German

In meinen Seminaren zum Urheberrecht bin ich in den letzten Monaten immer wieder auf diese Frage gestoßen. Anlass war die im Sommer 2019 auch in der Öffentlichkeit mit viel Aufregung geführte Diskussion um die neue EU-Urheberrechtsrichtlinie.

Schlagworte waren Upload-Filter und unmittelbare Haftung der Plattformbetreiber für Rechtsverletzungen durch ihre Nutzer.

Bei der Richtlinie geht es in der Hauptsache um die europaweite Einführung des Leistungsschutzrechtes für Presseverleger und die Begründung einer unmittelbaren Haftung des Plattformbetreibers. Beides ist bereits in der BRD geltendes Recht.

Aber welche rechtliche Bindungswirkung hat denn überhaupt eine EU-Richtlinie?

Dazu muss man wissen, dass eine EU-Richtlinie im sogenannten TRILOG -Verfahren auf EU-Ebene zustande kommt, d.h. unter Beteiligung der drei Institutionen der EU:

  1. Der EU-Rat, also die Versammlung der Regierungschefs der EU-Mitgliedstaaten. Dieser tagt auch auf Ministerebene. Der EU-Rat ist die politische Führung der EU und dort herrscht bei Abstimmungen das Einstimmigkeitsprinzip. Dies ist auch der Grund, dass die EU keinerlei politische Entscheidungen in der letzten Zeit treffen kann.
  2. Das EU-Parlament, welches größer ist als jedes nationale Parlament wird direkt gewählt.
  3. Die EU-Kommission als der Verwaltungsarm der EU, der im Kern für die Gewährleistung einheitlicher Wirtschaftsbedingungen in der EU zuständig ist und hierzu auch weitreichende Kompetenzen erhalten hat.

Also, wie läuft nun typischerweise das TRILOG-Verfahren ab?

Der EU-Rat beschließt, auf einem Gebiet, z.B. Vorratsdatenspeicherung, sei es sinnvoll eine einheitliche europaweite Regelung zu installieren. Dieser beauftragt dann die EU-Kommission mit der Ausarbeitung einer entsprechenden Richtlinie.

Die EU-Kommission fertigt nun unter Beteiligung und Anhörung betroffener Verbände und Lobbyisten den Entwurf einer EU-Richtlinie an und legt diesen dann dem EU-Parlament zur 1. Abstimmung vor.

Im EU-Parlament wird dieser Entwurf dann ergänzt, abgeändert und erweitert und nach Abschluss der parlamentarischen Diskussion zur 1. Abstimmung gestellt.

Diese Version wird nun dem EU-Rat zur abschließenden Prüfung vorgelegt. Dieser kann Streichungen und Änderungen vornehmen und muss dann erneut abstimmen.

Der so geänderte Entwurf gelangt dann zur 2. Abstimmung zum EU-Parlament. Dieses muss dann abstimmen, ohne Möglichkeit noch irgendetwas inhaltlich an der Richtlinie ändern zu können.

Erfolgt diese Abstimmung positiv dann ist sie endlich da die endgültige EU-Richtlinie!

Uns was heißt das jetzt?

Nach den EU-Verträgen gilt diese Richtlinie jetzt nicht unmittelbar in den Mitgliedstaaten als verbindliches Recht, sondern löst lediglich die Verpflichtung der Mitgliedstaaten aus, nunmehr diese Richtlinie in nationales Recht zu überführen.

Heißt: Nun muss jeder Staat sein nationales Gesetzgebungsverfahren starten und die Richtlinienregelung in das jeweils nationale Recht einfügen, z. B. UrhG. Das dies auch umgesetzt wird ist leider überhaupt nicht gewährleistet! Die EU kann lediglich Strafzahlungen verhängen, wenn ein Staat nicht innerhalb einer Frist von 3 – 5 Jahren die Richtlinie umsetzt.

Kein Staatschef der EU riskiert aber bei sich „zu Hause“ politische Probleme, nur um eine EU-Richtlinie umzusetzen. Uns sollte es daher nicht verwundern, dass gerade auch die BRD längst nicht alle EU-Richtlinien in nationales Recht umsetzt!

Also, im Ergebnis muss man somit festhalten, das eine EU-Richtlinie niemals für einen Bürger eines Mitgliedstaates unmittelbar rechtlich verbindlich wird!

This post is also available in: Englisch