What is the reason behind this?

In a judgement, the German Federal Supreme Court confirmed the imposition of a fine by the German Federal Cartel Office against Facebook. Although the judgement of the German Federal Supreme Court was issued more than two months ago, I would like to take up the issue again here and draw attention to two problems that are made clear in this decision.

1ST PROBLEM:

First, it should be noted that this decision will not have any legal consequences for everyday life and behaviour on and with Facebook at the moment.

This is simply due to the fact that the judgement is a summary proceeding. In these summary proceedings, the court decided on a fine imposed on Facebook by the German Federal Cartel Office in 2019.

Here is the first point of criticism: the length of time the summary proceeding lasted!

Before the fine was imposed, the Federal Cartel Office had already investigated for 3 years. This so-called summary proceeding took more than 4 years until it became legally binding!

This appears to be extremely problematic, especially in disputes related to the digital economy, because economic power in digital markets establishes itself quickly.

Facebook, on the other hand, now has the opportunity to have the decision on the main proceedings reviewed intensively once again. It is possible that the German Federal Supreme Court will also seek an opinion from the European Court of Justice in the proceedings, which would mean years of main lawsuits, without any legally binding final decision.

Here the legislator is undoubtedly called upon to ensure effective legal protection!

2ND PROBLEM:

The second important aspect of this decision is that the German Federal Supreme Court did not adopt the substantive justification of Facebook’s dominant position – as in the original decision of the Federal Cartel Office. The German Federal Supreme Court has NOT based its decision on a violation of the German Data Protection Act as a violation of antitrust law but has instead classified Facebook’s terms and conditions as questionable under antitrust law.

In doing so, the German Federal Supreme Court avoids deciding on the question of whether a violation of the European Data Protection Act can in principle constitute a violation of antitrust law. Sooner or later, the German Federal Supreme Court will not be able to ignore a statement on this question. Because the essential point of the problem is that the European Data Protection Act does not want to protect private personal data against an excessively encroaching state, but against the economic interests of the internationally very well positioned Internet platforms! Their business model consists precisely in generating sales through the intelligent use of personal data.

In conclusion, we can say:

Since we are only at the beginning of the intensive highest court clarification of legal questions on the application and scope of the European Data Protection Act, the German Federal Supreme Court will sooner or later have to take a clear position on this issue! In essence, the question is whether the field of protection of fundamental rights, which is part of public constitutional law, also applies directly to legal relations with Internet platforms in the private sector under civil law.

This post is also available in: German

Was steckt dahinter?

In einem Beschluss hat der BGH die Verhängung eines Bußgeldes durch das Bundeskartellamt gegen Facebook bestätigt. Obwohl der Beschluss des BGH nun schon über zwei Monate zurückliegt, möchte ich das Thema hier dennoch erneut aufgreifen und auf zwei Probleme, die in dieser Entscheidung deutlich werden, aufmerksam machen.

1. Problem

Zuerst bleibt festzuhalten, dass diese Entscheidung im Augenblick keinerlei Rechtswirkungen für den Alltag und für das Verhalten in und mit Facebook bewirken wird.

Dieses ist einfach dem Umstand geschuldet, dass es sich bei dem Beschluss um einen Beschluss in einem Eilverfahren handelt. In diesem Eilverfahren entschied das Gericht über eine im Jahre 2019 durch das Bundeskartellamt gegenüber Facebook erlassene Bußgeldentscheidung.

Hier ist auch schon der erste Kritikpunkt: Die zeitliche Dauer des Eilverfahrens!

Vor Erlass des Bußgeldbescheides hatte das Kartellamt bereits 3 Jahre ermittelt. Dieses sogenannte Eilverfahren hat somit bis zu seiner Rechtskraft mehr als 4 Jahre gedauert!

Dies erscheint äußerst problematisch gerade in Streitfällen mit Bezug zur Digitalwirtschaft, weil sich die wirtschaftliche Macht auf digitalen Märkten schnell verfestigt.

Facebook wiederum hat nun die Möglichkeit im Hauptsacheverfahren die Entscheidung noch einmal intensiv überprüfen zu lassen. Möglicherweise wird in dem Verfahren der BGH auch noch einer Stellungnahme des europäischen Gerichtshofs einholen, was wiederum ein jahrelanges Hauptsacheverfahren bedeuten würde.

Hier ist zweifellos der Gesetzgeber aufgerufen für einen effektiven Rechtsschutz Sorge zu tragen!

2. Problem:

Der zweite wichtige Aspekt dieser Entscheidung ist, dass der BGH nicht die inhaltliche Begründung der marktbeherrschenden Stellung von Facebook -wie im ursprünglichen Bescheid des Bundeskartellamts – übernommen hat. Der BGH hat gerade nicht auf einen Verstoß gegen die DSGVO als Kartellrechtsverstoß als Grund für seine Entscheidung genannt, sondern die AGB’ s von Facebook als kartellrechtlich bedenklich eingestuft.

Damit vermeidet der BGH eine inhaltliche Entscheidung hinsichtlich der Frage, ob ein Verstoß gegen die DSGVO grundsätzlich einen Tatbestand einer Kartellrechtsverletzung erfüllen kann. Früher oder später wird der BGH sich einer Stellungnahme zu dieser Frage nicht verschließen können. Denn dabei ist der Kern des Problems, dass die DSGVO das Grundrecht auf informationelle Selbstbestimmung nicht gegen einen zu übergriffigen Staat, sondern gegen die wirtschaftlichen Interessen der international sehr gut aufgestellten Internetplattformen schützen will! Deren Geschäftsmodell besteht nämlich genau darin, durch die intelligente Ausnutzung personenbezogener Daten ihre Umsätze zu generieren.

Zusammenfassend lässt sich also sagen:

Da wir uns erst zu Beginn der intensiven höchstrichterlichen Klärung von Rechtsfragen zur Anwendung und Reichweite der DSGVO befinden, wird sich auch der BGH hier früher oder später klar positionieren müssen! Im Kern geht es dabei um die Frage, ob das dem öffentlichen Verfassungsrecht zugehörige Feld des Grundrechtsschutzes auch im privatwirtschaftlichen, zivilrechtlichen Bereich unmittelbare Anwendung auf die Rechtsbeziehungen zu den Internetplattformen Anwendung findet.

This post is also available in: Englisch