On December 9, 2020, the EU Commission intends to announce a series of new planned competition and antitrust regulations to improve the control of technology groups, particularly the major Internet platforms.

In a report published on November 19, 2020, the EU Court of Auditors also urges the improvement of corresponding EU regulations. In particular, the report criticizes the fact that two antitrust proceedings against Internet platforms already exist under current law, but that enforcement here leaves much to be desired.

Although the EU Commission has opened antitrust proceedings against Google, these have been still pending before the European Court of Justice for more than three years without a decision.

Already a few weeks ago, the contents of the planned new EU regulations – the so-called Digital Services Act – were leaked, so I would like to give you a short list of the intended regulations in the following

1. Exclusive use of data

Large online platforms could be banned under the EU Digital Services Act from using collected User Data if it is not made available to smaller platforms. The activities of so-called “gatekeeper” platforms such as Google, Amazon and Facebook will be discussed in particular. These large corporations have a disproportionately high degree of economic power and control over the online world and can therefore participate in deciding “at the gate” who may enter the market.

According to the new regulation, gatekeepers are only allowed to use data

  • which is produced on the platform itself
  • or which are generated and collected on other services of the donors

for their own commercial purposes if it is also made available to other commercial users.

2. Rankings

Furthermore, online search engines are to be prohibited from displaying their own services preferentially and in an exposed position. This regulation represents a considerable tightening of the previous EU regulation from July 2019. In this regulation, search engines were only obliged to make it clear and transparent if they give preference to their own products and services.

3. Freedom of choice and Pre-installation

Equally, e-commerce giants will be prohibited in the future from restricting the ability of business users to offer the same goods and services to consumers under different conditions through other online intermediary services. It will also be prohibited for large companies to pre-install only their own apps on hardware systems. It must also be possible for consumers to uninstall applications that have already been pre-installed by the manufacturer.

4. Einführung einer sogenannten „Grauen Liste“

Furthermore, the EU Commission intends to introduce a so-called “grey list” of activities that the executive considers unfair and which may therefore require increased supervision by a competent authority in the future. According to this list, the platform giants are not allowed to prevent third parties from accessing essential information about customers and are instructed not to collect personal data beyond what is necessary to provide their services.

It ultimately remains to be seen in what concrete form the EU Commission will now present these regulations in December 2020. However, it can certainly be expected that intensive lobbying by the major Internet groups, as has already happened several times in the past, will result in some changes and public discussion before the final adoption. It remains – as so often in life – thus further exciting.

This post is also available in: German

Am 9. Dezember 2020 beabsichtigt die EU-Kommission die Bekanntgabe einer Reihe neuer geplanter wettbewerbsrechtlicher und kartellrechtlicher Regelungen zur besseren Kontrolle von Technologie-Konzernen, insbesondere den großen Internetplattformen.

Auch der EU-Rechnungshof fordert eindringlich in einem am 19.11.2020 veröffentlichen Bericht die Verbesserung entsprechender EU-Regelungen. Insbesondere kritisiert der Bericht, dass es zwei kartellrechtliche Verfahren gegen Internetplattformen nach gegenwärtigem Recht schon gibt, die Durchsetzung hier aber sehr zu wünschen übriglässt.

Zwar hat die EU-Kommission ein Kartellrechtverfahren gegen Google eröffnet, dieses ist aber jetzt bereits seit mehr als 3 Jahren ohne eine Entscheidung beim europäischen Gerichtshof anhängig.

Bereits vor paar Wochen wurden die Inhalte der geplanten neuen EU-Regelungen – dem sogenannten Digital Services Act- geleakt, sodass ich im Folgenden gern eine kurze Auflistung der beabsichtigten Regelungen geben möchte.

1. Exklusive Datennutzung

Großen Onlineplattformen könnte es unter dem Digital Services Act der EU verboten werden, gesammelte Userdaten zu verwenden, wenn diese nicht auch kleineren Plattform zur Verfügung gestellt werden. Hierbei wird insbesondere auf die Aktivitäten der sogenannten „Gatekeeper“ Plattformen wie Google, Amazon und Facebook eingegangen. Diese Großkonzerne haben ein unverhältnismäßig hohes Maß an wirtschaftlicher Macht und Kontrolle über die Online-Welt und können somit „am Eingangstor“ mitentscheiden, wer auf den Markt eintreten darf.

Nach der neuen Regulierung dürfen Gatekeeper die Daten,

  • welche auf der Plattform selbst
  • oder auf anderen Diensten der Geldgeber erzeugt und gesammelt werden
    nur dann für ihre eigenen kommerziellen Zwecke verwenden, wenn diese Daten auch anderen gewerblichen Nutzern zugänglich gemacht werden.

2. Rankings

Ferner soll es Online-Suchmaschinen verboten werden können ihre eigenen Dienste bevorzugt und an exponierter Stelle anzuzeigen. Diese Regelung stellt eine erhebliche Verschärfung der bisherigen Verordnung der EU aus dem Juli 2019 dar. In dieser waren Suchmaschinen lediglich verpflichtet transparent und deutlich zu machen, wenn sie ihre eigenen Produkte und Dienstleistungen bevorzugt behandeln.

3. Wahlfreiheit und Vorinstallation

Ebenso soll es den E-Commerce Giganten in Zukunft verboten werden die Möglichkeit der geschäftlichen Nutzer einzuschränken, den Verbrauchern dieselben Waren und Dienstleistungen unter anderen Bedingungen über andere Online-Vermittlungsdienste anzubieten. Ebenso soll es verboten sein, dass große Unternehmen  ausschließlich ihre eigenen Apps auf Hardwaresystemen vorinstallieren. Ebenso muss es möglich sein vom Hersteller bereits vorinstallierte Anwendungen durch den Verbraucher deinstallieren zu können.

4. Einführung einer sogenannten „Grauen Liste“

Ferner beabsichtigt die EU-Kommission die Einführung einer sogenannten „Grauen Liste“ von Aktivitäten, die die Exekutive als unfair erachtet und die daher zukünftig möglicherweise einer verstärkten Aufsicht durch eine zuständige Behörde benötigen. Demnach wäre es den Plattformgiganten nicht erlaubt, Drittanbieter am Zugang zu wesentlichen Informationen über Kunden zu hindern, und sie würden angewiesen keine persönlichen Daten zu sammeln die über das hinausgehen, was für die Erbringung ihrer Dienstleistung notwendig ist.


Im Ergebnis bleibt abzuwarten in welcher konkreten Ausgestaltung die EU-Kommission diese Regelungen jetzt im Dezember 2020 vorstellen wird. Es ist aber sicherlich damit zu rechnen, dass durch intensive Lobbyarbeit der großen Internetkonzerne, wie auch bereits mehrfach in der Vergangenheit geschehen, hier bis zur endgültigen Verabschiedung wir noch einiges an Veränderung und öffentliche Diskussion sehen werden. Es bleibt  -wie so oft im Leben- also weiterhin spannend.

This post is also available in: Englisch